Tesla Roadster 2024: Still the Most Anticipated EV That Isn't On Sale
If you've searched for the Tesla Roadster 2024 expecting a configurator and delivery timeline, you're not alone — and you're likely disappointed. The second-generation Roadster, first teased in November 2017 and repeatedly delayed through 2022, 2023, and 2024, remains an announced vehicle as of early 2026. Tesla has not opened reservations for new buyers, begun production at Giga Texas or elsewhere, or published final EPA-certified specifications. What follows is a data-grounded profile built on Tesla's stated engineering targets, the physics of its disclosed battery architecture, and a realistic assessment of what buyers should expect if and when this car finally reaches driveways.
This is not a review in the traditional sense. It is a buyer's-briefing for the ~390 people per month searching for Roadster information, many of whom are cross-shopping the Porsche Taycan Turbo GT, Lucid Air Sapphire, and Rimac Nevera — vehicles that actually exist, can be test-driven, and carry firm MSRP stickers.
Spec Table: Tesla Roadster (Announced / Preliminary)
| Attribute | Tesla's Stated Target | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| EPA Range (est.) | 620 miles | Unverified; based on 2017 announcement |
| Battery Capacity | ~200 kWh (usable est.) | Likely NMC chemistry; LFP ruled out by energy-density needs |
| Drivetrain | Tri-motor AWD | One front, two rear motors (per Musk, 2017) |
| 0–60 mph | 1.9 seconds (base); 1.1s w/ SpaceX package | SpaceX package uses cold-gas thrusters — unproven for production |
| Top Speed | >250 mph | Electronically limited; tire-rated dependent |
| Horsepower | ~1,000+ hp (est.) | Tesla has not published a final figure |
| Peak DC Fast Charge | Not disclosed | Expect 250–350 kW on V4 Superchargers if architecture supports 800V |
| Base MSRP (2017 target) | $200,000 (+ $50k Founders Series) | Final pricing TBD; likely higher given inflation & battery cost |
| Federal Tax Credit (§30D) | Not eligible | MSRP cap for sedans/sports cars is $55,000 per IRS rules |
| Battery/Drive Unit Warranty | Est. 8 yr / 150,000 mi | Based on Model S/X precedent; unconfirmed |
Range Reality: Why 620 Miles Is Both Plausible and Misleading
Real-world expectation (projected): ~430–480 miles highway at 70 mph; ~340–400 miles in cold weather (below 40°F) with cabin heat
A 620-mile EPA sticker on a 200 kWh pack implies efficiency around 322 Wh/mile — achievable for a low-slung, aerodynamic coupe (Cd ~0.22 claimed) but only under the EPA's relatively gentle test cycle. On a sustained 70-mph highway run, real-world consumption in any 2,000+ hp tri-motor EV climbs to 400–460 Wh/mile, as demonstrated by the Lucid Air Sapphire (435 Wh/mi highway in independent testing) and Porsche Taycan Turbo GT.
Cold-weather degradation hits any EV hard, and a 200 kWh pack is no exception. Expect 25–35% range loss in sub-freezing temperatures due to increased cabin heating demand, higher rolling resistance, and reduced regenerative-braking recovery. Tesla's heat-pump architecture (standard on current Model S/3/X/Y) mitigates this, but physics wins: 620 miles becomes roughly 400–440 in January in Chicago.
The more useful question is whether 450 real-world highway miles matters. For 98% of trips, yes — it eliminates charging stops entirely on LA-to-SF or NYC-to-DC runs. For the 2% (cross-country towing, extreme cold), it still beats every production EV except possibly the Lucid Air Grand Touring.
Charging: The 200 kWh Problem No One Talks About
| Charging Level | Power (kW) | Miles Added per Hour | 10–80% Time (est.) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1 (120V / 12A) | ~1.4 kW | ~4 mi/hr | ~100+ hours (impractical) |
| Level 2 (240V / 48A) | ~11.5 kW | ~32 mi/hr | ~14–16 hours |
| Level 2 (240V / 80A, Wall Connector) | ~19.2 kW | ~53 mi/hr | ~8–9 hours |
| DC Fast (V3 Supercharger, 250 kW peak) | 250 kW peak, ~180 kW sustained | ~500–650 mi/hr (peak) | ~45–55 minutes |
| DC Fast (V4 Supercharger, 350 kW peak) | 350 kW peak (if 800V architecture) | ~800+ mi/hr (peak) | ~30–40 minutes |
Here is the inconvenient math of a 200 kWh battery: even at a sustained 250 kW (which is rarely held for more than the first 15–20% of the charge curve), you're adding roughly 1 kWh every 14 seconds. A 10–80% charge requires ~140 kWh, which at a realistic 180 kW average takes 45–55 minutes. That's roughly double the 18–22 minute 10–80% time of a 75–85 kWh pack like the Model 3 Long Range or Ioniq 5.
Tesla has not confirmed whether the Roadster will use a 400V or 800V architecture. If 800V (like Porsche, Hyundai/Kia, and upcoming Tesla platforms), peak charge rates could reach 350 kW on V4 Superchargers, cutting 10–80% to roughly 30–40 minutes. If 400V, you're locked into V3 speeds and the longer timeline above. This is a critical spec Tesla has yet to disclose, and it will define road-trip usability more than the 620-mile sticker.
Home charging on a 48A Level 2 circuit (the most common residential install) adds roughly 32 miles per hour — meaning a full 0–100% recharge takes 14–16 hours. Most owners will charge overnight between 20–80% daily, but anyone planning back-to-back track days or long trips needs to plan around the pack's sheer size.
Performance: 1.9 Seconds and the Physics Behind It
Tesla's 1.9-second 0–60 mph claim (base) and 1.1-second claim (with the SpaceX cold-gas thruster package) were announced in 2017. The base figure has since been matched or approached by the Rimac Nevera (1.85s, verified), Pininfarina Battista (1.8s), and Lucid Air Sapphire (1.89s, MotorTrend-verified). The Roadster will not be unique in this territory if it launches in 2027+.
The tri-motor layout — one front, two rear — is proven on the Model S Plaid and enables torque vectoring across the rear axle. Expect roughly 1,000+ horsepower combined, though Tesla has never published a final dyno number. The SpaceX thruster package, which uses compressed air (not rocket fuel, despite the branding) for short bursts of downforce and acceleration, remains entirely unproven in a production vehicle and may be limited to track use only.
Top speed is claimed above 250 mph. This is tire-limited, not motor-limited — Michelin and Pirelli currently certify only a handful of road tires for sustained 250+ mph operation, and thermal management of motors and inverters at those speeds is a genuine engineering challenge. Expect an electronically governed top speed closer to 250 mph in practice.
Pricing, Tax Credits, and the $200,000 Question
| Vehicle | Base MSRP | §30D Credit Eligible? | Effective Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Roadster (announced) | $200,000 (2017 target) | No — MSRP cap is $55,000 for cars | $200,000+ |
| Tesla Roadster Founders Series | $250,000 (2017 target) | No | $250,000 |
| Porsche Taycan Turbo GT | $230,000 | No | $230,000 |
| Lucid Air Sapphire | $249,000 | No | $249,000 |
| Rimac Nevera | ~$2,200,000 | No | ~$2,200,000 |
The IRS §30D federal tax credit is not available for the Roadster under any plausible scenario. The credit's MSRP cap for sedans, sports cars, and wagons is $55,000 (it's $80,000 for SUVs, pickups, and vans). At a $200,000+ base, the Roadster is roughly 3.6x over that cap. Buyer income caps ($150,000 single / $300,000 joint AGI) are irrelevant here — the MSRP disqualifies the vehicle outright.
The $200,000 base price was announced in 2017. Given battery-material inflation, the shift to 4680 cells, and Tesla's own price increases across the lineup since then, a realistic 2027+ launch price is likely $225,000–$275,000 for the base model, with the Founders Series (first 1,000 units) at $300,000+. Tesla has not updated this figure publicly.
Who Should Wait — and Who Should Buy Now
Wait for the Roadster if: you want the longest-range production EV ever built, are willing to accept an uncertain delivery timeline (2027 at the earliest, per recent Musk statements), and value the Tesla Supercharger network and software ecosystem over the driving refinement of Porsche or Lucid.
Buy now if: you need a vehicle in the next 12 months, want verified EPA range and crash-test ratings, or prefer a car you can test-drive today. The Lucid Air Grand Touring (516 miles EPA, ~$138,000) delivers 83% of the Roadster's promised range with real-world availability. The Porsche Taycan Turbo GT offers superior handling, build quality, and a verifiable 1.9-second 0–60. The Tesla Model S Plaid (396 miles EPA, ~$89,990) is the closest thing to a Roadster you can actually buy from Tesla today.
Pros, Cons, and the Honest Assessment
- Projected 620-mile range would shatter the production-EV record (current: Lucid Air Grand Touring at 516 mi)
- 1.9-second 0–60 in the base model matches hypercar territory at a fraction of the Nevera's price
- Access to Tesla's Supercharger network — the most reliable DC fast-charging system in North America
- Tesla's OTA software updates, Sentry Mode, and FSD (Supervised) integration
- Removable glass roof panel (announced) for open-air driving
- Not on sale. Not in production. No firm delivery date after 7+ years of delays.
- 200 kWh pack means long home charging times (14+ hours for full charge) and heavy curb weight (~4,700+ lbs est.)
- No EPA certification, no NHTSA crash-test data, no IIHS ratings — all unknowns
- $200,000+ MSRP disqualifies it from the §30D federal tax credit entirely
- SpaceX thruster package is unproven and may be track-only or regulatory-prohibited on public roads
- Competitors (Lucid, Porsche, Rimac) are shipping real, tested, warrantied cars today
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Tesla Roadster 2024 actually available to buy?
No. As of early 2026, the Roadster is an announced vehicle with no open reservation system, no production line, and no confirmed delivery date. Tesla CEO Elon Musk has suggested production could begin in 2027, but this has shifted multiple times since the original 2020 target.
What is the real-world range of the Tesla Roadster?
Tesla's announced target is 620 miles (EPA). Based on comparable tri-motor, large-pack EVs, real-world highway range at 70 mph is projected at 430–480 miles, dropping to 340–400 miles in sub-freezing temperatures. These are estimates — the car has not been EPA-certified.
How fast does the Roadster charge?
Tesla has not disclosed peak DC fast-charge kW. At a V3 Supercharger (250 kW peak), expect 10–80% in roughly 45–55 minutes. At a V4 Supercharger (350 kW, if the Roadster uses 800V architecture), 10–80% could drop to 30–40 minutes. Home Level 2 charging at 48A takes 14–16 hours for a full charge.
Does the Tesla Roadster qualify for the federal EV tax credit?
No. The IRS §30D credit caps eligible MSRP at $55,000 for sedans and sports cars. At $200,000+, the Roadster is ineligible regardless of buyer income or battery sourcing.
Is the Roadster worth waiting for vs. buying a Lucid Air or Porsche Taycan?
If you need a car in the next 12–18 months, no — the Lucid Air Grand Touring and Porsche Taycan Turbo GT are shipping, warrantied, and independently tested. If you can wait until 2027+ and want the longest-range EV ever built, the Roadster may deliver. But seven years of delays warrant skepticism.
Will the SpaceX thruster package be street-legal?
Unclear. Cold-gas thrusters that alter vehicle dynamics on public roads raise significant NHTSA and state-level regulatory questions. Tesla has not confirmed whether this package will be road-legal or limited to track use only.
Sources: IRS §30D Clean Vehicle Credit rules, fueleconomy.gov for competitor EPA data, Tesla investor presentations and public statements. All Roadster specifications cited are Tesla's announced targets and have not been independently verified or EPA-certified.



