Quick Verdict: A Name in Limbo, Not a Dead Vehicle
The headline is real: the Tesla Cybercab trademark lost its bid for USPTO registration in early 2026, but the vehicle program itself is very much alive. Tesla unveiled the two-seat, no-steering-wheel robotaxi in October 2024, targeting a 2026–2027 production start. The trademark rejection — rooted in the USPTO's refusal to register marks containing "cab" for autonomous vehicle services without sufficient distinctiveness — is a branding hurdle, not an engineering one. Still, it raises questions about how Tesla will market a vehicle it may not legally be able to call "Cybercab" on official documents.
Below, we break down everything known about the vehicle's specs, the trademark dispute, pricing projections, and whether a Tesla robotaxi makes sense for your mobility future — or whether Waymo and Cruise already own this space.
The Tesla Cybercab Trademark Lost: What Happened
In late 2025, the United States Patent and Trademark Office issued an Office Action refusing Tesla's application to register "Cybercab" for use in connection with autonomous vehicle transportation services. The examining attorney cited Section 2(e)(1) of the Trademark Act, arguing that "cab" is descriptive of taxi/ride-hail services and that "Cyber" alone was insufficiently distinctive when combined with a generic term in a crowded field of autonomous-vehicle trademarks.
Tesla has the option to appeal to the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB), submit additional evidence of acquired distinctiveness, or refile under a modified name. As of mid-2026, Tesla has not publicly rebranded the vehicle, and internal communications still reference "Cybercab" colloquially. The USPTO database shows the application status as "Refused — Response Pending."
This matters for buyers and investors because trademark disputes can delay marketing, force last-minute rebrands, and create confusion in pre-order systems. It does not, however, delay the vehicle's engineering timeline.
Announced Specs: Range, Battery, and Efficiency
Because the Cybercab has not yet entered production, all figures below are based on Tesla's October 2024 reveal and subsequent analyst teardowns of prototype mules. These are preliminary estimates subject to change before SOP (start of production).
| Spec | Announced / Estimated |
|---|---|
| EPA Range (estimated) | ~250 miles |
| Battery Capacity (usable) | ~50 kWh (estimated) |
| Battery Chemistry | LFP (lithium iron phosphate) — per Tesla's cost-reduction strategy |
| Efficiency | ~120 MPGe / ~28 kWh/100 mi (est.) |
| Drivetrain | Rear-wheel drive, single motor |
| 0–60 mph | Not disclosed (est. 6.5–7.5 sec) |
| Horsepower | Not disclosed (est. ~200 hp) |
| Top Speed | Electronically limited (est. ~90 mph for urban use) |
Tesla's decision to use LFP chemistry aligns with the Cybercab's cost-first design philosophy. LFP cells are cheaper, have longer cycle life (3,000+ cycles to 80% capacity), and avoid cobalt/nickel supply-chain issues. The trade-off: lower energy density (meaning a physically larger pack for the same kWh) and reduced cold-weather performance compared to NMC cells.
Charging: How Fast Will the Cybercab Recharge?
The Cybercab will not have a charge port accessible to riders — it's designed to be charged autonomously between shifts. Tesla has confirmed wireless inductive charging capability, with the vehicle navigating itself to a charging pad. A conventional NACS port is also expected for maintenance and depot charging.
| Charging Level | Power / Rate | Estimated Time or Range Added |
|---|---|---|
| Wireless Inductive (Depot) | ~19 kW (est.) | ~5–7 miles of range per hour; full charge in ~7–8 hours |
| Level 2 (NACS, 48A) | ~11.5 kW | ~35 miles/hr; full charge in ~5 hours |
| DC Fast Charge (NACS) | ~150 kW peak (est.) | 10–80% in ~25–30 minutes (est.) |
The wireless charging pad is the headline feature. At roughly 19 kW, it's slower than a hardwired Level 2 connection but enables fully autonomous operation — the car parks itself over the pad and charges without any human interaction. For a fleet vehicle that charges overnight between shifts, this speed is adequate. The ~50 kWh battery means even slow wireless charging can replenish a full pack in a single overnight window.
The estimated 150 kW DC fast-charge peak is modest by 2026 standards (the Ioniq 5 hits 240 kW; the Lucid Air exceeds 300 kW), but Tesla likely prioritized cost and battery longevity over peak charge speed for a vehicle that will rarely use public fast chargers.
Design, Interior, and Tech
The Cybercab is a radical departure from every Tesla before it:
- No steering wheel, no pedals. This is a purpose-built SAE Level 4 vehicle — no driver intervention is expected or possible.
- Two-passenger seating in a bench configuration, facing forward.
- Gull-wing doors for dramatic entry/exit and easier curbside loading.
- Single center touchscreen (~15–17 inches estimated) for ride info, entertainment, and climate control.
- No traditional trunk. A small rear cargo area (~5–8 cu ft estimated) accommodates groceries or a carry-on bag. This is not a road-trip vehicle.
Unlike Tesla's consumer vehicles (Model 3, Model Y, Cybertruck) which operate at SAE Level 2 with Autopilot/FSD Supervised — requiring the driver to remain engaged — the Cybercab is designed for Level 4 operation within a defined Operational Design Domain (ODD). This means no human driver is needed, but the vehicle may be limited to specific geofenced areas, weather conditions, and speeds. Think Waymo, not "self-driving everywhere."
The sensor suite is expected to rely primarily on Tesla's vision-only approach (cameras, no LiDAR), which remains controversial among autonomous-vehicle engineers. Waymo's Level 4 vehicles use a combination of LiDAR, radar, and cameras — a redundant approach that has logged over 20 million paid rides. Tesla's bet is that its neural-network-driven vision system, trained on billions of miles of fleet data, can match or exceed LiDAR-based systems at a fraction of the hardware cost.
Pricing, Production Timeline, and Tax Credit Eligibility
Elon Musk stated at the 2024 reveal that the Cybercab would cost under $30,000 to purchase and roughly $0.20 per mile to operate as a ride-hail vehicle. However, Tesla has not opened pre-orders, and the production timeline has slipped from an original 2026 target to what analysts now expect as late 2027 at the earliest.
| Item | Estimated / Announced |
|---|---|
| Base MSRP (announced target) | < $30,000 |
| As-Tested / Equipped (estimate) | $30,000–$35,000 |
| Federal Tax Credit (§30D) | Up to $7,500 — subject to eligibility rules below |
| Estimated Price After Credit | ~$22,500–$27,500 |
| Cost Per Mile (Tesla claim) | ~$0.20/mi (operating cost for fleet use) |
Federal Tax Credit Eligibility (IRS §30D): If the Cybercab is sold to individual owners (not just fleet operators), it would need to meet the same IRS requirements as any other new EV:
- MSRP cap: ≤ $55,000 for sedans / ≤ $80,000 for SUVs/trucks — Cybercab should clear this easily at its target price
- Buyer income cap: AGI ≤ $150,000 (single) / ≤ $300,000 (joint) — applies to individual purchasers only
- Battery sourcing: Critical minerals and battery components must meet escalating domestic-content thresholds (80% critical minerals from FTA partners by 2027; 100% battery components manufactured/assembled in North America by 2029)
- Point-of-sale transfer: Eligible buyers can transfer the credit to the dealer for an upfront price reduction
- Fleet/commercial use: If purchased exclusively for commercial robotaxi fleet operation, §30D does not apply — instead, the commercial clean vehicle credit (§45W) may apply, with different rules
The LFP battery sourcing is a wildcard. Most LFP cells are currently manufactured in China (primarily CATL and BYD). If Tesla sources Cybercab cells from a non-FTA-partner country, the credit could be reduced to $3,750 or eliminated entirely. Tesla's partnership with CATL for LFP cells at the Nevada and Texas Gigafactories may satisfy domestic-assembly requirements, but critical-mineral sourcing remains uncertain.
Competitors: Cybercab vs. Waymo, Cruise, and Zoox
The Cybercab doesn't compete with the Model 3 or Ioniq 5 — it competes with purpose-built robotaxis already in commercial service:
| Attribute | Tesla Cybercab | Waymo 6th-Gen (Jaguar I-PACE) | Zoox Gen 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAE Level | Level 4 (announced) | Level 4 (live) | Level 4 (live) |
| Status | Announced / Pre-production | Commercial service in Phoenix, SF, LA, Austin | Limited service in Las Vegas, SF |
| Passenger Capacity | 2 | 4 | 4 |
| Sensor Suite | Vision-only (cameras) | LiDAR + radar + cameras | LiDAR + radar + cameras |
| Steering Wheel | None | None (6th-gen) | None |
| Estimated Cost Per Mile | ~$0.20 (Tesla claim) | ~$0.50–$1.00 (market rate) | Not disclosed |
| Miles Driven (Paid Rides) | 0 | 20M+ | <1M |
Tesla's claimed $0.20/mile operating cost would undercut every existing robotaxi service — but that number assumes massive scale, low maintenance costs from the simplified platform, and minimal remote-operator overhead. Waymo's current economics require higher per-mile pricing, partly because its LiDAR-heavy sensor stack costs tens of thousands of dollars per vehicle. Tesla's vision-only approach is dramatically cheaper in hardware but unproven at Level 4 in mixed urban traffic without any LiDAR redundancy.
Who Is the Cybercab For?
This is not a vehicle you'll buy for your driveway — at least not initially. Tesla's stated plan is to operate the Cybercab as a fleet vehicle (Tesla-owned and operated, similar to Waymo's model) and potentially allow individual Tesla owners to add their Cybercabs to a shared fleet, earning passive income. The use cases break down as:
- Fleet operators / Tesla itself: Primary buyer. Deploys in geofenced urban areas for ride-hail service.
- Individual "fleet investors": Tesla has hinted at a model where owners purchase a Cybercab and let Tesla operate it, splitting revenue. Think Airbnb for cars — but regulatory frameworks for this model don't yet exist in most states.
- Not for: Families (2 seats, minimal cargo), road-trippers (limited range, no manual override), rural drivers (geofenced to mapped urban areas), or anyone in a state where driverless vehicles aren't yet permitted.
- No steering wheel or pedals means zero manual override — if the system faults, the vehicle pulls over and stops. You cannot take control.
- Level 4 operation is geofenced — the Cybercab will only operate in pre-mapped, approved urban zones with favorable weather.
- The trademark dispute may force a name change before launch, adding marketing confusion.
- Production timeline has slipped to late 2027 or later — Tesla has a history of missing aggressive timelines (Roadster 2.0, Semi, Cybertruck delays).
- Vision-only Level 4 is unproven at scale — no other robotaxi operator has achieved commercial Level 4 without LiDAR.
Pros and Cons
Pros
- Projected sub-$30,000 price point undercuts every existing robotaxi platform
- LFP battery offers 3,000+ cycle life — ideal for high-mileage fleet duty
- Wireless inductive charging enables fully autonomous operations
- Tesla's neural-net training data from millions of FSD-equipped vehicles is unmatched in scale
- Minimal hardware complexity (no LiDAR, no steering system) reduces manufacturing cost and maintenance
- Could qualify for §30D or §45W tax credits depending on purchase structure
Cons
- Not yet in production — 2027 or later is the realistic timeline
- Vision-only Level 4 is unproven; no commercial robotaxi operates without LiDAR
- Trademark refusal creates branding uncertainty
- Only 2 seats and minimal cargo — severely limits ride-hail use cases vs. 4-seat Waymo/Zoox
- No manual override — passengers are fully dependent on the autonomous system
- Regulatory approval for driverless operation varies by state and is far from guaranteed nationwide
- LFP battery sourcing may jeopardize federal tax credit eligibility
Frequently Asked Questions
What does "Tesla Cybercab trademark lost" actually mean?
The USPTO refused to register "Cybercab" as a trademark for Tesla, primarily because "cab" is considered descriptive for transportation services. Tesla can appeal, provide evidence of distinctiveness, or rebrand. The vehicle program itself is unaffected — this is a marketing issue, not an engineering cancellation.
When will the Tesla Cybercab be available?
Tesla originally targeted 2026 production. Analysts now expect late 2027 at the earliest, with meaningful fleet deployment likely in 2028. Tesla has a track record of delaying new-vehicle programs beyond initial announcements.
Can I buy a Tesla Cybercab for personal use?
Tesla has not confirmed a direct-to-consumer sales model. The primary plan appears to be Tesla-owned fleet deployment, with a possible future option for individuals to purchase and add their vehicle to Tesla's shared fleet. Regulatory frameworks for individual robotaxi ownership are largely nonexistent as of 2026.
Does the Cybercab qualify for the $7,500 federal EV tax credit?
If sold to individual buyers, it should meet the MSRP cap (under $55,000). However, the LFP battery's critical-mineral sourcing — primarily from China — may disqualify it from the full $7,500 under current IRS §30D rules. Fleet purchases may qualify under §45W (commercial clean vehicle credit) instead.
Is Tesla's vision-only approach safe enough for Level 4?
This is the central debate in the autonomous-vehicle industry. Tesla argues its neural-network approach, trained on billions of real-world miles, can match LiDAR-based systems. Competitors (Waymo, Zoox, Cruise) use LiDAR for redundancy, arguing that camera-only systems struggle with depth perception in edge cases (heavy rain, direct sun glare, occluded objects). As of 2026, no vision-only system has achieved commercial Level 4 deployment at scale.
What is the real-world range of the Cybercab?
Tesla targets ~250 miles EPA-estimated. Expect 200–220 miles in urban stop-and-go use and 180–200 miles at highway speeds. Cold weather (below freezing) could reduce range by an additional 15–25% due to LFP chemistry limitations and cabin heating demands.
Is it worth waiting for the Cybercab vs. using Waymo now?
If you live in a city where Waymo already operates (Phoenix, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Austin), you can ride in a proven Level 4 robotaxi today. The Cybercab is years away from meaningful deployment and carries significant technical and regulatory risk. For mobility needs in 2026, Waymo is the only scaled, proven option.



