Quick Answer: Subaru STI electric concepts — including the STI E-RA Concept and the Solterra STI Concept — are not currently available for purchase. They are technology showcases previewing Subaru's electric performance direction. The production Solterra (2026 model year) is the closest buyable equivalent, offering 228 horsepower, an EPA-estimated 227 miles of range, and a starting MSRP around $44,995. If you're an enthusiast waiting for a true STI-badged production EV, you're looking at a 2027–2028 timeline at the earliest, with no confirmed specs or pricing.
Why Subaru STI Electric Concepts Matter to Performance EV Shoppers
For decades, the Subaru Tecnica International (STI) badge meant rally-bred all-wheel drive, turbocharged flat-fours, and a cult following built on models like the WRX STI. When Subaru discontinued the gas-powered WRX STI after the 2021 model year, it left a void in the performance AWD segment. The STI electric concepts are Subaru's signal that the performance lineage isn't dead — it's just transitioning to electrons.
But concepts and production cars are very different animals. If you're cross-shopping a potential future electric STI against today's performance EVs — the Tesla Model 3 Performance, Hyundai Ioniq 5 N, or BMW i4 M50 — you need to understand what Subaru has actually shown versus what you can actually buy today.
The STI Electric Concept Lineup: Specs and What They Signal
Subaru has revealed several STI-branded electric concepts, each targeting a different slice of the performance spectrum:
STI E-RA Concept
Unveiled at the 2022 Tokyo Auto Salon, the STI E-RA Concept is a track-focused prototype with Yamaha-developed motors producing a combined 1,072 horsepower (800 kW). It features torque vectoring AWD and was designed to chase a sub-40-second lap at the Nürburgring Nordschleife. This is a pure technology demonstrator — there is no production timeline, no battery capacity disclosure, and no pricing. Think of it as Subaru's answer to the Volkswagen ID.R: a halo project, not a showroom car.
Solterra STI Concept
Shown at the 2024 Tokyo Auto Salon, the Solterra STI Concept is far more relevant to actual buyers. Based on the production Solterra (co-developed with Toyota's bZ4X on the e-TNGA platform), it adds aggressive bodywork, a lowered suspension, larger brakes, and an STI-tuned AWD system. Subaru has not disclosed whether the powertrain receives a power bump over the standard Solterra's 214–228 hp output. This concept is the strongest hint that a production STI variant of the Solterra could arrive in the 2027–2028 timeframe.
STI NBR Challenge and Motorsport Efforts
Subaru has also campaigned STI-badged electric and hybrid prototypes in events like the Nürburgring 24 Hours (using a modified WRX with a hybridized powertrain). These efforts feed engineering data back into future production models but don't represent purchasable vehicles.
| Specification | STI E-RA Concept | Solterra STI Concept | 2026 Solterra (Production) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Concept (not for sale) | Concept (not for sale) | Available now |
| Power | 1,072 hp (800 kW) | Undisclosed | 214–228 hp |
| Drivetrain | Tri-motor AWD | Dual-motor AWD (STI-tuned) | Dual-motor AWD |
| Battery (usable) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 71.4 kWh (NMC) |
| EPA Range | N/A | N/A | 222–227 mi |
| DC Fast Charge (peak) | N/A | N/A | ~150 kW |
| 10–80% Charge Time | N/A | N/A | ~35 minutes |
| 0–60 mph | N/A | N/A | ~6.5 sec (est.) |
| Starting MSRP | N/A | N/A | $44,995 |
Buying Today: The 2026 Solterra as the Closest STI-Adjacent EV
If you want a Subaru electric vehicle with performance DNA and AWD credibility right now, the 2026 Solterra is your only option. Here's what you're actually getting:
Range and efficiency: The EPA rates the 2026 Solterra at 222–227 miles depending on trim (the higher-spec Touring and Limited trims with larger wheels lose a few miles). Real-world highway driving at 70+ mph typically yields 185–200 miles, and cold-weather operation (below 32°F) can push that down to 160–175 miles. The 71.4 kWh NMC battery is liquid-cooled, which helps with thermal management during DC fast charging but doesn't fully offset the chemistry's cold-weather losses.
Charging reality: The Solterra peaks at approximately 150 kW on DC fast chargers. In practice, the charge curve tapers significantly above 60% state of charge — expect a 10–80% session to take about 35 minutes at a functioning 150+ kW station. On Level 2 (240V, 48A), a full charge takes roughly 9 hours, which works for overnight home charging. The Solterra uses the CCS1 connector; Subaru has not yet confirmed a transition to NACS for this model year.
Performance: With 214–228 hp and Subaru's symmetrical AWD logic adapted for electric motors, the Solterra delivers confident all-weather traction but isn't a performance car by modern EV standards. The Ioniq 5 N produces 641 hp and does 0–60 in 3.4 seconds. The Tesla Model 3 Performance hits 510 hp and 2.9 seconds. The Solterra is a capable crossover, not a track weapon.
| Cost Category | 2026 Solterra Limited (EV) | 2025 WRX Premium (Gas) |
|---|---|---|
| Base MSRP | $46,995 | $33,595 |
| Fed. Tax Credit (§30D) | Up to $7,500 (eligibility varies) | $0 |
| Effective Purchase Price | ~$39,495 (if eligible) | $33,595 |
| Fuel/Energy (5 yr) | ~$3,750 (home charging, $0.14/kWh avg) | ~$11,250 (26 MPG, $3.90/gal) |
| Maintenance (5 yr) | ~$1,200 | ~$3,500 |
| Insurance (5 yr est.) | ~$9,500 | ~$7,800 |
| Estimated Depreciation | ~$18,000 | ~$14,000 |
| 5-Year Total Cost | ~$71,945 | ~$70,145 |
Sources: fueleconomy.gov, IRS §30D guidelines. Tax credit eligibility depends on MSRP caps, buyer income limits, and battery-sourcing requirements — verify with a tax professional.
Real-World Ownership: What First-Time EV Buyers Must Plan For
The STI concepts generate excitement, but if you're seriously considering the Solterra (or any EV) today, these practical factors determine whether electrification works for your life:
Home Charging Access
Over 80% of EV charging happens at home. If you have a garage or dedicated parking spot with access to a 240V circuit, a Level 2 home charger (typically $500–$800 for the unit, $800–$2,500 for professional installation including potential panel upgrades) makes daily EV ownership seamless. You plug in at night and wake up with a full battery. Without home charging, you're dependent on public infrastructure — which varies dramatically by region. If you live in an apartment without charging access, a PHEV like the Toyota RAV4 Prime (42 miles electric-only range, then hybrid operation) may be a more practical bridge.
Climate and Range Loss
Lithium-ion batteries lose efficiency in cold temperatures. In our testing and owner reports, the Solterra's 227-mile EPA range drops to roughly 170–185 miles in sustained sub-freezing conditions with cabin heating active. The Solterra's heat pump (standard on 2026 models) mitigates this somewhat compared to resistive heating, but physics is physics. If you live in Minnesota or Montana and regularly drive 150+ mile one-way trips in January, you'll need to plan charging stops carefully.
Driving Patterns
City and suburban driving with regenerative braking maximizes EV efficiency — expect to meet or even exceed EPA range estimates in stop-and-go traffic. Sustained highway driving at 75–80 mph is where EVs lose the most range relative to their sticker. If your commute is 90% highway miles, budget for 80–85% of the EPA figure as your practical range.
Should You Wait for a Production STI EV or Buy Now?
Decision Framework:
- Choose the 2026 Solterra now if: You want Subaru's electric AWD today, your daily driving is under 150 miles, you have home charging access, and you value the $7,500 federal tax credit (which may change under future legislation). You accept that this is a comfortable, capable crossover — not a performance car.
- Wait for a production STI EV if: Performance is your primary motivation, you currently own or previously owned a WRX STI, you're willing to wait until 2027–2028+ for confirmed specs, and you have an alternative daily driver in the meantime. Be prepared for a likely $55,000–$65,000+ starting price based on the performance EV segment.
- Choose a current performance EV instead if: You want STI-rivaling acceleration and handling today. The Hyundai Ioniq 5 N ($67,500, 641 hp, N-track mode) or Tesla Model 3 Performance ($54,990, 510 hp, 2.9-sec 0–60) are proven, purchasable, and eligible for varying levels of federal incentive.
- Choose a PHEV if: You lack reliable home charging or regularly drive in areas with sparse DC fast-charging infrastructure. The Subaru Crosstrek Hybrid (if available in your market) or Toyota RAV4 Prime offers partial electrification without range anxiety.
Common Misconceptions About Subaru's Electric Performance Future
| Myth | Fact |
|---|---|
| "The STI E-RA is coming to dealerships soon." | The E-RA is a 1,072-hp track prototype with no production timeline or road-legal homologation. It exists to test torque-vectoring AWD software and motor technology. |
| "The Solterra STI Concept means a production version is confirmed." | Subaru has not officially confirmed a production Solterra STI. The concept demonstrates design direction and engineering intent. Production decisions depend on market demand and platform economics. |
| "An electric STI will have the same driving feel as a gas WRX STI." | EVs deliver instant torque and AWD without a mechanical center differential. The driving dynamics will be fundamentally different — quicker off the line, heavier overall, with simulated gear shifts (like the Ioniq 5 N) as a possible option. The rally-bred mechanical feel won't translate directly. |
| "The Solterra already qualifies for the full $7,500 tax credit." | Eligibility under IRS §30D depends on battery critical-mineral sourcing, buyer income caps ($150K single / $300K joint), MSRP caps ($80K for SUVs), and point-of-sale transfer rules. Always verify current-year eligibility before purchase. |
| "Electric Subarus won't be real Subarus without a boxer engine." | Subaru's core brand attributes — symmetrical AWD, all-weather capability, ruggedness — are arguably better served by electric motors with independent axle control. The brand identity is evolving, not disappearing. |
What Enthusiasts Should Watch For Next
Subaru's roadmap is becoming clearer, even if specific products remain unconfirmed. Key milestones to monitor:
- Next-gen e-TNGA platform updates (2026–2027): Toyota and Subaru are jointly developing an updated EV architecture expected to support faster charging (potentially 350 kW peak), larger battery packs (90+ kWh), and NACS connector adoption. A production STI variant would likely debut on this refreshed platform.
- Subaru's dedicated EV factory plans: Subaru has announced investments in EV production capacity at its Gunma plant in Japan. Increased manufacturing commitment signals more EV models are coming, potentially including a performance-oriented crossover or sedan wearing the STI badge.
- Nürburgring testing data: Subaru has historically used Nordschleige lap times as marketing proof points (the gas WRX STI's 6:57 lap was a brand milestone). Watch for a timed EV prototype lap — it would signal production intent for a performance model.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I buy a Subaru STI electric vehicle right now?
No. As of 2026, Subaru does not sell any STI-badged electric vehicle. The STI E-RA and Solterra STI are concepts only. The closest production option is the standard 2026 Solterra, starting at $44,995.
How fast would a production Subaru STI EV be?
Subaru has not released specs for a production STI EV. For context, the Hyundai Ioniq 5 N (a comparable performance EV crossover) produces 641 hp and hits 0–60 in 3.4 seconds. A production Solterra STI would likely target 350–450 hp and a 4.0–5.0 second 0–60 time, based on segment positioning.
Will an electric STI have Subaru's legendary AWD?
Yes, but implemented differently. Instead of a mechanical center differential and driveshaft, electric AWD uses independent front and rear motors with software-controlled torque distribution. Subaru's STI division is developing torque-vectoring algorithms that could match or exceed the responsiveness of the gas-era system — but the feel will be different.
Does the 2026 Solterra qualify for the $7,500 federal EV tax credit?
Potentially, but eligibility is not guaranteed for every buyer. Under current IRS §30D rules, you must meet income caps ($150,000 single / $300,000 joint modified AGI), the vehicle must meet battery-sourcing and critical-mineral requirements, and the MSRP must not exceed $80,000 for SUVs. The credit can now be transferred at the point of sale as a discount. Verify with your tax professional and the dealer before purchase.
Should I wait for a production STI EV or buy a different performance EV now?
If you need a vehicle within 12 months and want performance EV capability today, the Hyundai Ioniq 5 N, Tesla Model 3 Performance, or BMW i4 M50 are proven options with full specs, safety ratings (IIHS), and available incentives. If the STI badge and Subaru brand loyalty are non-negotiable, you'll need to wait until at least 2027–2028 for a confirmed production model.
What's the real-world range of the Solterra in cold weather?
In sustained temperatures below 32°F with highway driving and cabin heating, expect roughly 160–185 miles from a full charge, compared to the EPA-rated 222–227 miles. Preconditioning the battery while plugged in (using the Solterra's scheduled departure feature) recovers some of this loss by warming the pack before you drive.



